Users

User administration screen

This is the user administration screen. It lists all users known to the articy:server and shows if they are currently connected to the server. Keep in mind that all user acounts on the articy:server are shared amongst the server's projects. Therefore user management is completely independent from project management.



Create a new user


Working with a multi-user articy:draft project, even just viewing such a project, requires an user account on the articy:server that manages the project. Click "Create" to add a new user. A dialog window appears that looks like this:



A new user must at least have a user name and a password. The horizontal bar below the first password field shows the strength of your entered password. It updates after every typed character. When confirming this dialog, the user account is written to the database.

Edit a user


This option brings up the same dialog as from create user. However, the fields for the password remain empty. When confirming changes to the other properties of this user entry, empty password fields signal that the current password remains unchanged. Entering values in those fields sets the password to a new value, though.

There are no limits on the amount of user accounts. Just create as many of them as you need. Every user is instantly allowed to log into the articy:server. Only when it comes to opening a project, the user account needs to be supplied with a valid articy license.
 
If you have temporarily run out of articy:draft licenses, just remove a license from the account of a not-logged-in user. Apply this freed license to the unlicensed user account you want to activate. If you are permanently short of articy:draft licenses however, it might be better contacting sales@nevigo.com and purchasing additional licenses. Doing so avoids a constant "juggling" of licenses between user accounts.


Change license

NEW in 2.4!
If you want to assign a specific license to many users at once, you can select multiple users with CTRL/ SHIFT + CLICK and use the "Assign License"-button at the bottom-right.


Kick user

NEW in 2.4!
You can kick users to disconnect them from the server. This is particularly helpful, if your team is working with floating licenses and a user forgot to go offline and is blocking a license without using it.

Deactivate user


Sometimes it is necessary to temporarily deactivate a user. As a result, this particular user is no longer able to login to this server. If a user is deactivated while he is logged in and has opened a project, he is forced into offline mode. This is indicated by a red lamp and a blinking red background in the connection status area 1.



 
Once deactivated, a user can be reactivated with this action. This enables the user to log into the server again.


Delete user


This completely deletes the user from the server. Users have to be disabled in order to get deleted. A deleted user can not be restored, however a new user with the same name as the old user may be created.

Read about the advanced configuration page.